KOMSA AG

Cloud strategy for system houses

Flexible and solution-oriented

KOMSA is one of the leading European distributors and service providers for modern communication technology. The product range includes more than 26,000 products from the digital world and ensures delivery logistics with more than 2.3 million packages shipped per year. With gridscale as a partner, the system house relies on the strategic expansion of its service portfolio with modern cloud services and thus at the same time on one of the leading technology platforms for its own retail partners and their customers.

Overview
The system house KOMSA, founded in 1992, is one of the largest German distributors and service providers for information and communication technology in the B2C and B2B business.

Branche
Telecommunications

Employees
1200+

Trading partners
20.000+

gridscale products in use
Public Cloud
Storage
Managed Kubernetes
Reseller-/White-Label-Lösung

The goal
The further development of the KOMSA cloud strategy and the establishment of a fully comprehensive cloud service offering with the help of a multi-client capable and cost-flexible reseller platform. The focus here is on maximum security, ease of use, and close support from the manufacturer in a spirit of partnership.

Challenges
Only a few vendors are really tailored to the business requirements of system houses. Here, it was necessary to separate the wheat from the chaff and examine the vendors not only in terms of technology, but also with regard to possible white label options, their partner models and promised support and service guarantees.

The solution
The gridscale Cloud – a fail-safe and 100% DSGVO compliant reseller solution. Setting up, configuring and scaling a server is a matter of just a few clicks. Ideal for system houses: The integrated partner panel allows convenient management of all customer relationships and control of the entire cloud business at the same time.

Key Results

Partner

Public cloud in your own corporate design

Maximum security and availability

Custom configurations

We already knew the old-fashioned way of doing things. We really liked the way gridscale ticks. The approach was completely different from what we had learned.

Thomas Heidbreder, Head of Cloud Sales & Services at KOMSA AG

Starting point and key objectives

For a value-added distributor like KOMSA, the requirements for an IT infrastructure are high. As part of the further development of its own cloud strategy, particularly with respect to its indirect business, the company was therefore looking for an alternative infrastructure partner with a multi-client-capable and cost-transparent reseller platform. The aspects of security and data protection also play an important role for the system houses served by KOMSA.

“In the past, we only used small cloud services like Office 365 for our customers,” explains Thomas Heidbreder, Head of Cloud Sales & Services, “but the question was always, how do we deal with our own data center capacities? That’s where we’re thinking, of course, how we can provide appropriate services.”

“Especially when it comes to configuration and management of individual clients, the Partner Panel is really great. Most of the hosting offers we make to system houses in terms of cloud are based on hosting at gridscale because we can always rely on the proximity and competence of the gridscale experts.“

– Thomas Heidbreder

Wanted: A flexible partner for customized cloud offerings

For the expansion of KOMSA’s cloud capacities, cooperation with an alternative cloud provider with a white label option is just the right thing to do. To best realize the market opportunities of such a cooperation, two selection criteria were particularly important for KOMSA: a solution-oriented flexibility to implement customized cloud infrastructures for customers and a partnership-based relationship to quickly realize and smoothly operate these solutions. “We want to be able to create individual solutions for our customers that are not standard and come off the shelf,” says Heidbreder.

Realization

For Thomas Heidbreder, contact with gridscale was a very positive experience right from the start, both in terms of personal contact and technological expertise. “We already knew the old-fashioned way of doing things,” he recalls. “That’s when we really liked how gridscale ticks. The approach was very different from what we had learned.”

Among the points that ultimately tipped the scales in favor of gridscale was, for example, gridscale’s use of deep-learning algorithms developed in-house to identify potential performance problems in advance and to address them proactively. “The promise of 100% resilience already impressed us.”

A special feature of gridscale for KOMSA was also the uncomplicated and cooperative approach. “The fast and solution-oriented communication with the developers of gridscale is still a key feature of the cooperation today,” emphasizes Heidbreder. “For us, this is one of the important benefits of this partnership.”

The gridscale Partner Panel: the simple and transparent reseller cloud

For many system houses, cloud solutions are still a new area. The simplicity and user-friendliness of the Partner Panel is therefore particularly important for Heidbreder: “With gridscale, we found a reseller solution that can be easily explained and demonstrated to the system houses.” Setting up, configuring and scaling a server is a matter of just a few clicks.

“The Partner Panel is certainly something that convinced us,” says Heidbreder. “It’s also something you can quickly introduce to a partner who just doesn’t come from the IT infrastructure business.” Other plus points of the gridscale platform are the clear display of resource consumption and the minute-by-minute billing of daily costs.

Another ideal feature for a distributor like KOMSA is the ability to add limits and approvals for different customers and price models through the use of configurable templates. “This is particularly important in a resale model,” explains Heidbreder, praising the customer-friendly implementation: “It’s very easy to manage, simply on the interface. That’s really good.”

Highly flexible and data secure cloud environment

gridscale provides KOMSA’s IT specialists with development flexibility and a performance-based cost structure that the data centers of most hyperscalers cannot offer. Traditional solutions such as VMware also proved to be relatively expensive and inflexible for many applications.

For this reason, part of KOMSA’s cloud strategy is to develop customer-specific solutions based on the gridscale infrastructure that are profitable for the system house and distributor. Particularly in the case of network configuration, it is advantageous for a higher-level distributor that various clients can be linked with the Partner Panel. This opens up additional opportunities for the service provider business.

Even after the introduction of the EU General Data Protection Regulation, the topic of security is a frequently requested aspect for German system houses when choosing a cloud solution. KOMSA can easily meet these requirements with the gridscale cloud. The German certified high-security data centers with geo-redundant data storage reliably cover all necessary legal framework conditions.

Summary

Virtualized infrastructures are being used by more and more companies and system houses to circumvent the disadvantages of rigid on-premises solutions. For KOMSA, the partnership with gridscale is therefore a central component of a future-oriented reseller cloud strategy. Decisive arguments were the flexibility for customers and developers, the innovative multi-client capable partner panel, reliable fail-safety and the transparent cost structure. But just as important as the technological and financial issues is the close and open-minded partnership character of the cooperation between KOMSA and gridscale.

Download the Success Story

Our Success and Partner Stories are also available for free download in PDF format. You can find many more exciting stories in our story overview or as a convenient PDF to take home in the Download Center.

KOMSA AG

Cloud-Strategie für Systemhäuser

Flexibel und lösungsorientiert

KOMSA ist einer der führenden europäischen Distributoren und Dienstleister für moderne Kommunikationstechnik. Das Sortiment umfasst mehr als 26.000 Produkte aus der digitalen Welt und sorgt für die Sicherstellung der Lieferlogistik mit mehr als 2,3 Millionen versendeter Pakete im Jahr. Mit gridscale als Partner setzt das Systemhaus auf die strategische Erweiterung ihres Leistungsportfolios um moderne Cloud-Dienste und damit zugleich auf eine der führenden Technologieplattformen für die eigenen Handelspartner und deren Kunden.

Übersicht
Das Systemhaus KOMSA, gegründet 1992, ist einer der größten deutschen Distributoren und Dienstleister für Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik im B2C- und B2B-Geschäft.

Branche
Telekommunikation

Mitarbeitende
1200+

Handelspartner
20.000+

gridscale Produkte im Einsatz
Public Cloud
Storage
Managed Kubernetes
Reseller-/White-Label-Lösung

Das Ziel
Die Weiterentwicklung der KOMSA Cloud-Strategie und der Aufbau eines vollumfänglichen Cloud-Serviceangebotes mithilfe einer mandantenfähigen und kostenflexiblen Reseller-Plattform. Dabei im Fokus: maximale Sicherheit, einfache Bedienbarkeit und eine enge und partnerschaftliche Unterstützung durch den Hersteller.

Herausforderungen
Nur wenige Hersteller sind auf die geschäftlichen Anforderungen von Systemhäusern wirklich zugeschnitten. Hier galt es, die Spreu vom Weizen zu trennen und die Anbieter über die Technologie hinaus auch hinsichtlich möglicher White-Label-Optionen, ihren Partnermodellen und zugesagten Support- und Servicegarantien abzuprüfen.

Die Lösung
Die gridscale Cloud – eine ausfallsichere und 100 % DSGVO-konforme Reseller-Lösung. Aufsetzen, Einrichten und Skalieren eines Servers sind eine Sache von nur wenigen Klicks. Ideal für Systemhäuser: Das integrierte Partnerpanel erlaubt zugleich das komfortable Management aller Kundenbeziehungen und die Steuerung des gesamten Cloud-Geschäfts.

Key Results

Partner

Public Cloud im eigenen Corporate Design

Maximale Sicherheit und Verfügbarkeit

Kundenspezifische Konfigurationen

Angestaubt kannten wir schon. Da hat es uns schon sehr gefallen, wie gridscale tickt. Der Ansatz war ein ganz anderer, als wir gelernt hatten.

Thomas Heidbreder, Head of Cloud Sales & Services bei KOMSA AG

Ausgangslage und Zielsetzung

Für einen Value-Added-Distributor wie KOMSA sind die Anforderungen an eine IT-Infrastruktur hoch. Im Zuge der Weiterentwicklung der eigenen Cloud-Strategie, insbesondere im indirekten Geschäft, suchte das Unternehmen deshalb einen alternativen Infrastruktur-Partner
mit einer mandantenfähigen und kostentransparenten Reseller-Plattform. Auch die Aspekte Sicherheit und Datenschutz spielen bei den von KOMSA betreuten Systemhäusern eine wichtige Rolle.

»In der Vergangenheit nutzten wir für unsere Kunden nur kleine Cloud-Dienste wie Office 365«, erklärt Thomas Heidbreder, Head of Cloud Sales & Services, »aber die Frage war immer, wie gehen wir mit unseren eigenen Rechenzentren-Kapazitäten um? Da überlegen wir natürlich,
wie wir entsprechende Services bereitstellen können.«

„Insbesondere, was die Konfiguration und das Management einzelner Mandanten angeht, ist das Partner Panel wirklich klasse. Die meisten Hosting-Angebote, die wir den Systemhäusern in Sachen Cloud machen, basieren auf Hosting bei gridscale. Auf unserer Seite können wir uns dabei immer auf die Nähe und Kompetenz der gridscale Experten verlassen.
Mit gridscale hat man einfach Spaß an der gemeinsamen Entwicklung.“

– Thomas Heidbreder

Gesucht: Ein flexibler Partner für kundenspezifische Cloud-Angebote

Für die Erweiterung der Cloud-Kapazitäten von KOMSA bietet sich die Zusammenarbeit mit einem alternativen Cloud-Anbieter mit White-Label-Option gerade zu an. Um die Marktchancen einer solchen Kooperation optimal zu verwirklichen, waren für KOMSA zwei Auswahlkriterien besonders wichtig: eine lösungsorientierte Flexibilität, um für die Kunden maßgeschneiderte Cloud-Infrastrukturen umzusetzen und ein partnerschaftliches Verhältnis, um diese Lösungen schnell zu realisieren und reibungslos zu betreiben. »Wir wollen die Möglichkeit haben, für unsere Kunden individuelle Lösungen zu schaffen, die nicht Standard sind und von der Stange kommen«, so Heidbreder.

Realisierung

Für Thomas Heidbreder war der Kontakt zu gridscale von Anfang an eine sehr positive Erfahrung, sowohl was den persönlichen Kontakt anbelangt als auch die technologische Expertise. »Angestaubt kannten wir schon«, erinnert er sich. »Da hat es uns schon sehr gefallen, wie gridscale tickt. Der Ansatz war ein ganz anderer, als wir gelernt hatten.«

Zu den Punkten, die letztlich den Ausschlag für gridscale gaben, gehört zum Beispiel gridscales Einsatz von selbst entwickelten Deep-Learning-Algorithmen, um mögliche Performance-Probleme schon im Vorfeld zu identifizieren und vorausschauend zu beheben. »Das Versprechen einer 100%igen Ausfallsicherheit hat uns schon beeindruckt.«

Eine Besonderheit von gridscale war für KOMSA auch der unkomplizierte und partnerschaftliche Umgang. »Die schnelle und lösungsorientierte Kommunikation mit den Entwicklern von gridscale ist bis heute ein wesentliches Merkmal der Zusammenarbeit«, betont Heidbreder. »Das ist für uns einer der wichtigen Vorzüge dieser Partnerschaft.«

Das gridscale Partner Panel: die einfache und transparente Reseller-Cloud

Für viele Systemhäuser sind Cloud-Lösungen immer noch ein neuer Bereich. Gerade die Einfachheit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit des Partner Panels ist deshalb für Heidbreder wichtig: »Mit gridscale fanden wir eine Reseller-Lösung, die man den Systemhäusern gut erklären und vorführen kann.« Aufsetzen, Einrichten und Skalieren eines Servers sind Sache von nur wenigen Klicks.

»Das Partner Panel ist mit Sicherheit etwas, das uns überzeugt hat«, so Heidbreder. »Das kann man auch schnell einem Partner nahebringen, der eben nicht aus dem IT-Infrastrukturgeschäft kommt.« Weitere Pluspunkte der gridscale Plattform liegen in der übersichtlichen Darstellung des Ressourcenverbrauchs und in der minutengenauen Abrechnung der täglichen Kosten.

Ideal für einen Distributor wie KOMSA ist zudem die Möglichkeit, über den Einsatz von konfigurierbaren Templates Limitierungen und Freigaben für verschiedene Kunden und Preismodelle hinzuzuschalten. »Das ist gerade in einem Wiederverkaufsmodell wichtig«, erläutert Heidbreder und lobt die kundenfreundliche Umsetzung: »Das kann man sehr gut managen, einfach auf der Oberfläche. Das ist schon wirklich gut.«

Hochflexible und datensichere Cloud-Umgebung

gridscale ermöglicht den IT-Spezialisten von KOMSA eine Entwicklungsflexibilität und leistungsgerechte Kostenstruktur, wie sie die Rechenzentren der meisten Hyperscaler nicht bieten können. Auch herkömmliche Lösungen wie VMware erwiesen sich für viele Anwendungen als verhältnismäßig teuer und unflexibel.

Aus diesem Grund ist es ein Teil der Cloud Strategie von KOMSA, auf Grundlage der gridscale Infrastruktur kundenspezifische Lösungen zu entwickeln, die sich für Systemhaus und Distributor rechnen. Gerade bei der Netzkonfiguration ist hierbei für einen übergeordneten Distributor von Vorteil, dass sich mit dem Partner Panel verschiedene Mandanten verknüpfen lassen. Damit ergeben sich zusätzliche Möglichkeiten für das Service-Provider-Geschäft.

Auch nach der Einführung der EU-Datenschutz-Grundverordnung ist das Thema Sicherheit für deutsche Systemhäuser ein oft nachgefragter Aspekt bei der Wahl einer Cloud-Lösung. KOMSA kann diese Anforderungen mit der gridscale Cloud leicht erfüllen. Die deutschen zertifizierten Hochsicherheits-Rechenzentren mit georedundanter Datenspeicherung decken alle notwendigen rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen zuverlässig ab.

Resümee

Virtualisierte Infrastrukturen werden von immer mehr Unternehmen und Systemhäusern genutzt, um die Nachteile starrer On-Premises-Lösungen zu umgehen. Die Partnerschaft mit gridscale ist für KOMSA deshalb ein zentraler Baustein einer zukunftsorientierten Reseller Cloud Strategie. Entscheidende Argumente waren die Flexibilität für Kunden und Entwickler, das innovative multimandantenfähige Partner Panel, eine zuverlässige Ausfallsicherheit sowie die transparente Kostenstruktur. Doch ebenso bedeutsam wie die technologischen und finanziellen Themen ist der partnerschaftliche Charakter der Zusammenarbeit von KOMSA und gridscale.

Download der Success Story

Unsere Success und Partner Stories gibt es auch zum kostenlosen Download im PDF-Format. Viele weitere spannende Storys findest du in unserer Story-Übersicht oder als bequemes PDF zum Mitnehmen im Download Center.