SMIGHT

Smart solutions for smart cities

Cloud provider sought with startup mindset

As an independent business unit of EnBW, the Karlsruhe-based startup SMIGHT implements digital solutions for the smart city, addressing topics such as public WLAN, traffic management and smart grid applications. The company is developing extremely dynamically; continuous innovation and the closely timed launch of new services are part of everyday business.

Overview
SMIGHT was founded in 2014 with the aim of creating the energy transition with the help of hardware and software-based IoT services. More than 35,000 measuring points on the distribution grid provide large amounts of data in real time for this purpose.

Branche
IT-Services and IT-Consulting

Employees
25+

Municipal customers
300+

gridscale products in use
Public Cloud
Storage
Managed Kubernetes

The goal
The in-house developed IoT platform SMIGHT IQ was initially operated by one of the well-known global cloud providers. However, a lack of service and support, overly complex handling and a lack of flexibility led the startup to search for a more suitable cloud partner. In addition, there were particularly strict compliance requirements from both the parent company EnBW and the responsible municipal institutions.

Challenges
Due to exponential growth leaps and continuously changing, technical requirements for the cloud infrastructure, the new provider must adapt to large dynamics and always have flexible solutions and necessary know-how ready. Dynamic adaptation of operating models along its own product and project roadmap is highly critical to SMIGHT‘s success. Certified security and strict DSGVO compliance are mandatory due to the networking of systems in the public environment.

The solution
gridscale was able to establish itself as a long-established cloud specialist with its ease of use and open architecture; consistent conformity with German data protection is guaranteed at all times. The elastically scaling systems easily absorb even large data volumes and highly fluctuating data traffic. Multi-stage staging processes and predefined database interfaces and workflows ensure stable, maximally automated and fail-safe IT operation of the entire system.

Key Results

Secure operation of smart IoT services for municipalities

Highly elastic responses to sensor measurements

Database

>450 million data records from approx. 1,500 end devices

The company was looking for a powerful, flexible cloud infrastructure for the SMIGHT IQ IoT platform. But above all: an IT provider with a high level of service and a great understanding of the specifics of a fast-growing, technology-driven startup.

Since 2019, the data flow between all participants in the SMIGHT-IoT ecosystem as well as the operation of all central SMIGHT-IQ components from business logic and configuration databases are mapped via gridscale.

Thanks to the intuitive user interfaces, all IT infrastructure resources can be controlled particularly easily and new IoT services can be launched virtually in real time. At the same time, the gridscale architecture based on open standards offers the SMIGHT team any degree of freedom in the further development of its technology and in the design of corresponding cloud strategies.

We need this expertise to better assess capacities for new IoT services and to strategically develop our infrastructure. Even during the test phase, we were impressed not only by the actual technology, but also by gridscale’s understanding of the customer and its hands-on mentality. We are glad that quick, expert assistance is more important here than bureaucratic procedures when needed.

Ralf Rapude, responsible IT project manager

Initial situation and objective

SMIGHT was founded in 2014 as a corporate startup and now operates as an independent business unit of EnBW AG. With around 30 employees, SMIGHT implements hardware- and software-based IoT services for the smart city.
Particular specialties are retrofit solutions for retrofitting existing urban infrastructures, such as street lights or local network stations, which are equipped with intelligent sensor technology.

More flexibility and customer proximity instead of overly complex product diversity

The central core of all smart solutions is the self-developed IoT platform SMIGHT IQ, initially operated by one of the well-known hyperscalers. The initial problem: over-complexity in handling the cloud infrastructure and a lack of tailoring to the actual service and support needs of a scaling startup.
“As a small company without specific cloud expertise, we not only want a stable, high-performance operating environment, but also close support and more vendor flexibility in the implementation of our individual plans” is how Ralf Rapude, responsible IT project manager at SMIGHT, summarizes the subsequent search for a more suitable cloud partner.

Even though in most cases we are not dealing with personal data in the strict sense, data security is a top priority. The strict compliance requirements of our parent company and our municipal customers are, of course, also binding for us.
– Ralf Rapude

Realization

Against the backdrop of exponential leaps in development in the areas of IoT and smart value-added services, there is great momentum in technologies and deployment scenarios for traffic management systems, public WLAN and other smart city applications.

Companies in this sector have to adapt to this quickly, so SMIGHT‘s business model and therefore the requirements for the respective cloud infrastructure only evolve over time and are constantly changing.

“Our cloud partner must also be able to keep up with this dynamism and individuality,” adds Ralf Rapude. “The global providers are too big, anonymous and complicated for this. The very small providers, in turn, don’t have the necessary range and experience.”

Easy handling and open source technologies

As a long-established cloud specialist with a focus on medium-sized businesses, gridscale was able to successfully assert itself in the selection process. The ease of use and open architecture of the platform were just as important criteria as the German location and strict compliance with the DSGVO and German data protection.

“Even though in most cases we are not dealing with personal data in the strict sense, data security is a top priority. The strict compliance requirements of both our parent company and our municipal customers are, of course, also binding for us,” says Ralf Rapude.

Architecture, migration and operation of the SMIGHT-IQ infrastructure

After upstream evaluation and testing procedures were carried out in 2018, the SMIGHT-IQ server landscape was migrated to the gridscale infrastructure in 2019 and an initially temporary parallel operation with the previous cloud platform took place.

As a modern, cloud-native application, SMIGHT IQ is based on a Docker container architecture and has since been deployed via a multi-tier system environment in gridscale’s high-security data center. Particularly advantageous is the simple resource allocation via the intuitive, web-based panel interfaces as well as the fast and arbitrary server scaling during operation.

SMIGHT has transferred the actual business logic of the application, the configuration databases for the connected IoT devices as well as the staging process from the development, test and production system to the gridscale infrastructure. The incoming data is stored at the MongoDB Atlas database service via a corresponding interface. The most important parameters for the design of the IT infrastructure include in particular the numerous field devices and sensors, which are often networked via mobile communications.

As a result, SMIGHT – unlike fiber optics or copper cable – must assume a certain instability in transmission and data transfer that is not always free of interference. In addition, the data volumes are very large, since the field devices perform regular measurements or permanently transmit data during their use. Since this is real-time data, the target systems as well as the gridscale cloud infrastructure must therefore respond elastically to the transmission and scale accordingly quickly.

Summary

With more than 300 customers in the municipal environment, SMIGHT has established itself as one of the leading IoT ecosystems for the digitally connected city of the future. Currently, the data pool comprises around 455 million data records from over 1,500 installed devices. Between 20 and 25 million data sets are added monthly. The flexibility and customer proximity desired by SMIGHT is also particularly evident in service and support, because young companies in particular that are rapidly developing their product portfolio are dependent on close cooperation with the cloud provider.

Download the Success Story

Our Success and Partner Stories are also available for free download in PDF format. You can find many more exciting stories in our story overview or as a convenient PDF to take home in the Download Center.

SMIGHT

Smarte Lösungen für smarte Cities

Cloud Provider mit Startup-Mindset gesucht

Das Karlsruher Startup SMIGHT realisiert als eigenständiger Geschäftsbereich der EnBW digitale Lösungen für die Smart City und adressiert dabei Themen wie Public WLAN, Verkehrsmanagement sowie Smart-Grid-Anwendungen. Das Unternehmen entwickelt sich extrem dynamisch; fortwährende Innovation und der eng getaktete Launch neuer Services gehören zum Geschäftsalltag.

Übersicht
SMIGHT wurde 2014 mit dem Ziel gegründet, mithilfe von hard- und softwarebasierten IoT-Services die Energiewende zu schaffen. Über 35.000 Messpunkte am Verteilnetz liefern hierfür große Datenmengen in Echtzeit.

Branche
IT-Services und IT-Consulting

Mitarbeitende
25+

Kommunale Kunden
300+

gridscale Produkte im Einsatz
Public Cloud
Storage
Managed Kubernetes

Das Ziel
Die eigens entwickelte IoT-Plattform SMIGHT IQ wurde zunächst bei einem der bekannten globalen Cloud-Anbieter betrieben. Jedoch ließen mangelnder Service und Support, überkomplexes Handling und fehlende Flexibilität das Startup nach einem besser geeigneten Cloud-Partner suchen. Hinzu kamen besonders strenge Compliance-Vorgaben sowohl der Konzernmutter EnBW wie auch der verantwortlichen kommunalen Einrichtungen.

Herausforderungen
Durch exponentielle Wachstumssprünge und sich kontinuierlich verändernde, technische Anforderungen an die Cloud-Infrastruktur, muss sich der neue Anbieter auf große Dynamiken einstellen und stets flexible Lösungen und nötiges Know-how bereithalten. Eine dynamische Anpassung der Betriebsmodelle entlang der eigenen Produkt- und Projektroadmap ist für SMIGHT hochgradig erfolgskritisch. Zertifizierte Sicherheit und strikte DSGVO-Konformität sind durch die Vernetzung der Systeme im öffentlichen Umfeld obligatorisch.

Die Lösung
gridscale konnte sich als langjährig etablierter Cloud-Spezialist mit seiner leichten Bedienbarkeit und der offenen Architektur durchsetzen, konsequente Konformität mit dem deutschen Datenschutz ist jederzeit gewährt. Die elastisch skalierenden Systeme federn auch große Datenmengen und sehr stark schwankenden Datenverkehr spielend ab. Mehrstufige Staging-Prozesse und vordefinierte Datenbankschnittstellen und Abläufe sorgen für einen stabilen, maximal automatisierten und ausfallsicheren IT-Betrieb des gesamten Systems.

Key Results

Sicherer Betrieb smarter IoT-Services für Kommunen

Hochelastische Reaktionen auf Sensormessungen

Database

> 450 Mio. Datensätze von circa 1.500 Endgeräten

Gesucht wurde eine leistungsfähige, beliebig flexible Cloud-Infrastruktur für die IoT-Plattform SMIGHT IQ. Vor allem aber: ein IT-Anbieter mit hohem Servicegrad und großem Verständnis für die Besonderheiten eines schnell wachsenden, technologie-getriebenen Startups.

Seit 2019 werden der Datenfluss zwischen sämtlichen Teilnehmern im SMIGHT-IoT-Ökosystem sowie der Betrieb aller zentralen SMIGHT-IQ-Komponenten aus Business-Logik und Konfigurationsdatenbanken über gridscale abgebildet.

Dank der intuitiven Nutzeroberflächen lassen sich alle IT-Infrastruktur-Ressourcen besonders einfach steuern und neue IoT-Services quasi in Echtzeit launchen. Die gridscale-Architektur auf Basis offener Standards bietet dem SMIGHT-Team zugleich beliebige Freiheitsgrade bei der Fortentwicklung seiner Technologie und bei der Ausgestaltung entsprechender Cloud-Strategien.

Wir benötigen diese Expertise, um Kapazitäten für neue IoT-Services besser einschätzen und unsere Infrastruktur auch strategisch fortentwickeln zu können. Schon in der Testphase hat uns neben der eigentlichen Technologie vor allem das Kundenverständnis und die Hands-on-Mentalität von gridscale beeindruckt. Wir sind froh, dass schnelle, fachkundige Hilfestellungen hier im Bedarfsfall wichtiger sind als bürokratische Prozeduren.

Ralf Rapude, verantwortlicher IT-Projektleiter

Ausgangslage und Zielsetzung

SMIGHT wurde 2014 als Corporate Startup gegründet und agiert mittlerweile als eigenständiger Geschäftsbereich der EnBW AG. Mit rund 30 Mitarbeitern realisiert SMIGHT hard- und softwarebasierte IoT-Services rund um die Smart City.
Besondere Spezialität sind Retro-Fit-Lösungen zur Nachrüstung bestehender städtischer Infrastrukturen, beispielsweise Straßenlaternen oder Ortsnetzstationen, die mit intelligenter Sensorik ausgestattet werden.

Mehr Flexibilität und Kundennähe statt überkomplexer Produktvielfalt

Zentrales Herzstück aller smarten Lösungen ist die selbst entwickelte IoT-Plattform SMIGHT IQ, zunächst betrieben bei einem der bekannten Hyperscaler. Das anfängliche Problem: Überkomplexität im Handling der Cloud-Infrastruktur und fehlender Zuschnitt auf den tatsächlichen Service- und Support-Bedarf eines skalierenden Startups.
»Als kleines Unternehmen ohne spezifisches Cloud Know-how wünschen wir uns nicht nur eine stabile, performante Betriebsumgebung, sondern auch enge Betreuung und mehr Anbieterflexibilität bei der Umsetzung unserer individuellen Vorhaben« fasst Ralf Rapude, verantwortlicher IT-Projektleiter bei SMIGHT, die nachfolgende Recherche nach einem besser geeigneten Cloud-Partner zusammen.

Auch wenn es sich bei uns in den meisten Fällen nicht um personenbezogene Daten im engeren Sinne handelt, hat die Datensicherheit höchste Priorität. Die strengen Compliance-Vorgaben unserer Konzernmutter wie auch unserer kommunalen Kunden sind selbstverständlich auch für uns verbindlich.
– Ralf Rapude

Realisierung

Vor dem Hintergrund der exponentiellen Entwicklungssprünge in den Bereichen IoT und smarter Mehrwertdienste herrscht bei Technologien und Einsatzszenarien von Verkehrsmanagementsystemen, öffentlichem WLAN und anderen Smart-City-Anwendungen große Dynamik.

Unternehmen in diesem Sektor müssen sich daran rasch anpassen, sodass sich das Geschäftsmodell von SMIGHT und damit auch die Anforderungen an die jeweilige Cloud-Infrastruktur erst im Zeitverlauf entwickeln und sich fortwährend ändern.

»Diese Dynamik und Individualität muss auch unser Cloud-Partner mitgehen können«, ergänzt Ralf Rapude. »Die globalen Provider sind dafür zu groß, anonym und kompliziert. Die ganz kleinen Provider wiederum verfügen nicht über das notwendige Angebot und die Erfahrung.«

Einfaches Handling und Open Source Technologien

gridscale konnte sich als langjährig etablierter Cloud-Spezialist mit Mittelstandsprägung im Auswahlprozess erfolgreich durchsetzen. Die leichte Bedienbarkeit und offene Architektur der Plattform waren dabei ebenso wichtige Kriterien wie der deutsche Standort und die strikte Konformität mit der DSGVO und dem deutschen Datenschutz.

»Auch wenn es sich bei uns in den meisten Fällen nicht um personenbezogene Daten im engeren Sinne handelt, hat die Datensicherheit höchste Priorität. Die strengen Compliance-Vorgaben unserer Konzernmutter wie auch unserer kommunalen Kunden sind selbstverständlich auch für uns verbindlich«, so Ralf Rapude.

Architektur, Migration und Betrieb der SMIGHT-IQ-Infrastruktur

Nach Durchführung vorgelagerter Evaluierungs- und Testverfahren im Jahr 2018 erfolgte 2019 die Migration der SMIGHT-IQ-Serverlandschaft auf die gridscale-Infrastruktur und ein zunächst temporärer Parallelbetrieb mit der bisherigen Cloud-Plattform.

Als moderne, cloud-native Applikation basiert SMIGHT IQ auf einer Docker Container-Architektur und wird seither über eine mehrstufige Systemumgebung im Hochsicherheitsrechenzentrum von gridscale bereitgestellt. Besonders vorteilhaft ist dabei die einfache Ressourcenallokation über die intuitiven, webbasierten Paneloberflächen sowie die schnelle und beliebige Serverskalierung im laufenden Betrieb.

SMIGHT hat die eigentliche Geschäftslogik der Anwendung, die Konfigurationsdatenbanken für die angeschlossenen IoT-Geräte als auch den Staging-Prozess aus Development-, Test- und Produktivsystem in die gridscale-Infrastruktur übertragen. Die einlaufenden Daten werden über eine entsprechende Schnittstelle bei dem Datenbankservice MongoDB Atlas gespeichert. Zu den wichtigsten Parametern für die Ausgestaltung der IT-Infrastruktur gehören insbesondere die zahlreichen Feldgeräte und Sensoren, die häufig über Mobilfunk vernetzt sind.

In der Folge muss SMIGHT – anders als bei Glasfaser oder Kupferkabel – von einer gewissen Instabilität bei der Übertragung und einem nicht immer störungsfreien Datentransfer ausgehen. Zudem sind die Datenmengen sehr groß, da die Feldgeräte regelmäßige Messungen ausführen oder bei ihrer Nutzung permanent Daten übertragen. Da es sich hierbei um Echtzeitdaten handelt, müssen die Zielsysteme wie auch die gridscale Cloud-Infrastruktur daher elastisch auf die Übertragung reagieren und entsprechend schnell skalieren.

Resümee

Mit mehr als 300 Kunden im kommunalen Umfeld hat sich SMIGHT als eines der führenden IoT-Ökosysteme für die digital vernetzte Stadt der Zukunft etabliert. Aktuell umfasst der Datenpool etwa 455 Millionen Datensätze von über 1.500 installierten Geräten. Monatlich kommen zwischen 20 und 25 Millionen Datensätze hinzu. Die von SMIGHT gewünschte Flexibilität und Kundennähe zeigt sich vor allem auch im Service und Support, denn gerade junge Unternehmen, die ihr Produktportfolio rasch weiterentwickeln, sind auf eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Cloud Provider angewiesen.

Download der Success Story

Unsere Success und Partner Storys gibt es auch zum kostenlosen Download im PDF-Format. Viele weitere spannende Storys findest du in unserer Story-Übersicht oder als bequemes PDF zum Mitnehmen im Download Center.