Quantumfrog

More time for creative work thanks to the gridscale cloud

Quantumfrog consolidates hosting for web projects with gridscale

As a multi-award-winning digital agency, Quantumfrog offers a wide range of services in the areas of serious gaming, mobile apps, online stores and websites. In addition to conception and development, the Oldenburg-based company also takes care of the IT operations of its customers’ projects. When managing numerous providers and infrastructures became a burden, Quantumfrog opted for gridscale’s public cloud. The easy-to-use platform finally gives the digital agency more time for its core business: the creation of digital solutions

Overview
Quantumfrog is a digital agency from Oldenburg. Started in 2011 as a forge for browser games, the 24-member team now develops and manages mobile apps, games and complete web and online store projects.

Branche
Agencies & Software Development

Employees
24

Customers
Numerous B2B customers from many different industries (e.g. online retailers, publishers, research institutions, from startups to medium-sized businesses to global corporations)

gridscale products in use
Public Cloud
SSD-Cloud-Storage
Managed Database
RESTful API
Cloud & Partner Panel

The goal
Agency customers not only expect creative ideas, but also one hundred percent reliability in the operation of their apps, websites and stores. Quantumfrog wants to automate its IT processes to a large extent and was looking for a partner who could effectively relieve them of hosting. In addition to high availability and security, the cloud platform should make the management of various customer instances simple and clear, while automatically scaling IT resources as needed.

Challenges
When it comes to IT operations for the countless customer systems, Quantumfrog struggles with the dilemma that standard hosting packages are either usually too big or too small. This means: either too little performance or too high costs. Even the large hyperscalers offer no alternative: the range of functions of their complex platforms far exceeds the agency’s needs, and personal service is also lacking.

The solution
With gridscale’s public cloud, Quantumfrog has found the optimal cloud offering for itself and its business customers. The platform offers state-of-the-art cloud functions and automatically scales IT performance for customer projects. At the same time, operation remains clear and focused on the essentials. Together with personal support, managed services for application operation and 100% availability, Quantumfrog and its customers benefit from smooth and cost-efficient IT operations.

Key Results

More time for the core agency business

Partner

Convenient management of accounts and projects

System migration in just a few days

We appreciate the very personal support from gridscale. The German support is pleasant and important to us. The interaction with the managed services provider that gridscale arranged for us also works out just perfectly!

Hendrik Rump, Managing Partner & Co-Founder of Quantumfrog

Starting point and key objectives

Meanwhile, the Quantumfrog team can look back on hundreds of successful projects. In 2011, three founders started in Oldenburg’s Technology and Startup Center with the development of a first sci-fi card game for the browser. The creative team, now numbering 24, is still delighting its customers with smart online and mobile games, and increasingly with gamification solutions for business customers.

In addition to multiple awards, Quantumfrog received the German Computer Game Award for the best serious game as recently as 2018. In 2021, the agency and its partner Honig Studios jointly won the first prize in the category of best family game. More recently in 2022, two serious games in cooperation with Telekom Security GmbH – Digitale Security Parcours and Digitale Security Poker – were both awarded gold at the ComenuisEduMedia Award.

The Oldenburg-based company has long since applied its gaming DNA and its expertise in 2D and 3D representations to other innovative online projects, especially mobile apps, the augmented reality sector, and the design of online stores, complex 3D product configurators, and websites.

© Getty Images / Quinke Networks

Decouple creative growth and hosting effort

However, as the success grew, so did the administrative overhead of hosting customer projects. “After more than a decade, the different providers and infrastructures began to slow us down,” reports co-founder and CEO Hendrik Rump.

If a customer reports that the online store is running slowly, for example, a complicated troubleshooting process begins: Which hoster is running the affected servers? Or are they located at the customer’s site? Is the application managed by an external service provider? Who needs to be contacted and who needs to take action?

The need for agencies like Quantumfrog to largely automate hosting and IT management tasks and keep them as simple as possible is correspondingly great.

But the cloud market offers hardly any suitable offers for medium-sized service providers: “Standard packages from hosters are either too small or far too large. Instances quickly reach their performance limits or cause high costs due to unused resources,” explains Rump. It is true that the public clouds of the large hyperscalers offer full flexibility. “But everything is far too complicated. As a creative agency, we lack the expertise to optimally manage customer infrastructures on these platforms,” says Rump.

For the online store of the customer Meinmarktstand.de, Quantumfrog was looking for a public cloud that automatically adjusts the required IT capacities to the current demand and makes controlling cloud instances simple and clear, without unnecessary ballast. The customer also values high data protection standards and German server locations. The online store and database should be redundant for maximum availability and an optimal user experience.

Standard packages from hosters are either too small or far too large. Instances quickly reach their performance limits or cause high costs due to unused resources.

– Hendrik Rump

Realization

The project had already started at the beginning of 2020, but the previous provider offered neither the desired level of automation nor the flexibility in accessing IT resources. In 2022, Quantumfrog therefore decided to switch to the public cloud from gridscale. The platform’s ease of use already paid off during the migration: “When we gave our go-ahead on Friday, all customer systems had been moved less than a week later. We couldn’t have done that with any other provider,” says Managing Director Rump.

As with other projects, Quantumfrog is working with a managed services provider on Meinmarktstand.de to maintain and monitor customer systems in the cloud. “Unlike the complex US clouds, gridscale simplifies the division of labor with IT partners quite significantly,” says Rump. For example, in addition to the clear dashboard, the platform offers its own client management for different customer instances.

Clearly manage cloud clients for customer projects

“Other hosting providers or IT service providers usually don’t allow access to the backend in managed services, otherwise you have to take care of everything yourself,” says Rump. “In gridscale’s cloud, we can flexibly decide whether and to what extent customers control their systems themselves. The user interface is so simple that service providers, our team and our customers can quickly find their way around,” says Rump. The agency creates future customer instances via the partner panel and thus always has a clear overview of the infrastructure operation of various projects.

gridscale’s public cloud is much clearer and easier to use than the big platforms and still offers all the functions we need as an agency.

– Hendrik Rump

Summary

In practice, the new public cloud provides effective relief for Quantumfrog: “Our cloud scales the IT resources for the store database fully automatically. The customer benefits from high availability during peak loads and at the same time sees that he only pays for the performance he actually calls up.”

It is particularly important to the agency that it has a fixed contact person for all questions about the cloud: “We appreciate the very personal support from gridscale. The German support is pleasant and important to us. The interaction with the managed services provider, which gridscale arranged for us, also works out perfectly,” emphasizes Rump.

The decision-makers at Quantumfrog see the gridscale platform as an opportunity to consolidate the infrastructure side of their business. “With partners like this behind us, we are now tackling the virtualization of our system landscape and making our development processes even more agile,” says Rump. “This gives us the freedom to focus on our strength as an agency: developing creative solution.”

Download the Success Story

Our Success and Partner Stories are also available for free download in PDF format. You can find many more exciting stories in our story overview or as a convenient PDF to take home in the Download Center.

Quantumfrog

Mehr Zeit für Kreation mit der gridscale-Cloud

Quantumfrog konsolidiert Hosting für Web-Projekte mit gridscale

Als vielfach prämierte Digitalagentur bietet Quantumfrog ein breites Leistungsspektrum in den Bereichen Serious Gaming, mobile Apps, Online-Shops und Websites. Die Oldenburger kümmern sich neben Konzeption und Entwicklung auch um den IT-Betrieb ihrer Kundenprojekte. Als das Steuern zahlreicher Provider und Infrastrukturen zur Belastung wurde, entschied sich Quantumfrog für die Public Cloud von gridscale. Die leicht zu bedienende Plattform verschafft der Digitalagentur endlich wieder mehr Zeit für ihr Kerngeschäft: die Kreation digitaler Lösungen.

Übersicht
Quantumfrog ist eine Digitalagentur aus Oldenburg. 2011 als Schmiede für Browser-Games gestartet, entwickelt und betreut das 24-köpfige Team heute Mobile Apps, Games und komplette Web- und Onlineshop-Projekte.

Branche
Agenturen & Software-Entwicklung

Mitarbeitende
24

Kunden
Zahlreiche B2B-Kunden aus vielen verschiedenen Branchen (z. B. Online-Händler, Verlage, Forschungseinrichtungen, vom Startup über Mittelstand bis zum globalen Konzern)

gridscale Produkte im Einsatz
Public Cloud
SSD-Cloud-Storage
Managed Database
RESTful API
Cloud & Partner Panel

Das Ziel
Agenturkunden erwarten nicht nur kreative Ideen, sondern auch hundertprozentige Zuverlässigkeit beim Betrieb ihrer Apps, Websites und Shops. Quantumfrog will seine IT-Prozesse weitgehend automatisieren und suchte einen Partner, der sie beim Hosting effektiv entlastet. Neben Hochverfügbarkeit und Sicherheit soll die Cloud-Plattform das Management verschiedener Kundeninstanzen einfach und übersichtlich machen und zugleich IT-Ressourcen bei Bedarf automatisch skalieren.

Herausforderungen
Beim IT-Betrieb der zahllosen Kundensysteme kämpft Quantumfrog mit dem Dilemma, dass Hosting-Standardpakete entweder meist zu groß oder zu klein sind. Das bedeutet: entweder zu wenig Leistung oder zu hohe Kosten. Selbst die großen Hyperscaler bieten keine Alternative: Der Funktionsumfang ihrer komplexen Plattformen übersteigt bei Weitem den Bedarf der Agentur, zudem fehlt der persönliche Service.

Die Lösung
Mit der Public Cloud von gridscale hat Quantumfrog das optimale Cloud-Angebot für sich und seine Geschäftskunden gefunden. Die Plattform bietet modernste Cloud-Funktionen und skaliert die IT-Leistung für Kundenprojekte automatisch. Zugleich bleibt die Bedienung übersichtlich und auf das Wesentliche konzentriert. Zusammen mit persönlichem Support, Managed Services für den Applikations-Betrieb und der hundertprozentigen Verfügbarkeit profitieren Quantumfrog und seine Kunden von einem reibungslosen und kosteneffizienten IT-Betrieb.

Key Results

Mehr Zeit für das Agenturgeschäft

Partner

Komfortable Verwaltung von Cloud-Mandanten

System-Migration in wenigen Tagen

Wir schätzen die sehr persönliche Betreuung durch gridscale. Der deutsche Support ist uns angenehm und wichtig. Auch das Zusammenspiel mit dem Managed-Services-Dienstleister, den uns gridscale vermittelt hat, klappt einfach perfekt!

Hendrik Rump, Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter & Mitgründer von Quantumfrog

Ausgangslage und Zielsetzung

Inzwischen blickt das Team von Quantumfrog auf Hunderte erfolgreicher Projekte zurück. 2011 starteten drei Gründer im Oldenburger Technologie- und Gründerzentrum mit der Entwicklung eines ersten Sci-fi-Kartenspiels für den Browser. Noch immer begeistern die mittlerweile 24 Kreativen ihre Kunden mit pfiffigen Online- und Mobilespielen, zunehmend auch mit Gamification-Lösungen für Geschäftskunden.

Neben vielfachen Auszeichnungen, erhielt Quantumfrog erst 2018 den Deutschen Computerspiel Preis für das beste Serious Game. 2021 holte die Agentur mit dem Partner Honig Studios, gemeinsam den ersten Preis in der Kategorie bestes Familienspiel. Jüngst in 2022 wurden zwei Seriousgames in Kooperation mit der Telekom Security GmbH – Digitale Security Parcours und der Digitale Security Poker – beim ComenuisEduMedia Award beide mit Gold ausgezeichnet.

Ihre Gaming-DNA und ihre Expertise für 2D- und 3D-Darstellungen bringen die Oldenburger längst auch in anderen innovativen Onlineprojekten ein, vor allem bei mobilen Apps, im Sektor Augmented Reality sowie bei der Gestaltung von Onlineshops, komplexen 3D-Produktkonfiguratoren und Websites.

© Getty Images / Quinke Networks

Kreatives Wachstum und Hosting-Aufwand entkoppeln

Mit dem Erfolg wuchs allerdings auch der Verwaltungsaufwand durch das Hosting der Kundenprojekte. „Nach mehr als einem Jahrzehnt begannen uns die unterschiedlichen Provider und Infrastrukturen auszubremsen“, berichtet Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer Hendrik Rump.

Meldet sich ein Kunde, etwa weil der Online-Shop langsam läuft, startet eine umständliche Fehlersuche: Bei welchem Hoster laufen die betroffenen Server? Oder stehen sie beim Kunden? Wird die Applikation von einem externen Dienstleister gemanagt? Wer muss kontaktiert werden, wer handeln?

Entsprechend groß ist der Bedarf bei Agenturen wie Quantumfrog, Aufgaben im Hosting und IT-Management weitgehend zu automatisieren und insgesamt so einfach wie möglich zu halten.

Doch der Cloud-Markt bietet für mittelständische Dienstleister kaum passende Angebote: „Standard-Pakete bei Hostern sind entweder zu klein oder viel zu groß. Instanzen geraten schnell an Leistungsgrenzen oder verursachen hohe Kosten durch ungenutzte Ressourcen“, erklärt Rump. Zwar bieten die Public Clouds der großen Hyperscaler die volle Flexibilität. „Aber alles ist viel zu kompliziert. Als Kreativagentur fehlt uns die Expertise, Kundeninfrastrukturen auf diesen Plattformen optimal zu steuern“, sagt Rump.

Für den Onlineshop des Kunden Meinmarktstand.de suchte Quantumfrog nach einer Public Cloud, die die benötigte IT-Kapazitäten automatisch an den augenblicklichen Bedarf anpasst und das Steuern von Cloud-Instanzen einfach und übersichtlich gestaltet, ohne überflüssigen Ballast. Der Kunde legt zudem Wert auf hohe Datenschutzstandards und deutsche Server-Standorte. Der Onlineshop samt Datenbank sollte redundant ausgelegt sein für höchste Verfügbarkeit und eine optimale Nutzererfahrung.

Standard-Pakete bei Hostern sind entweder zu klein oder viel zu groß. Instanzen geraten schnell an Leistungsgrenzen oder verursachen hohe Kosten durch ungenutzte Ressourcen.

– Hendrik Rump

Realisierung

Gestartet war das Projekt bereits Anfang 2020. Der frühere Provider bot jedoch weder den gewünschten Automationsgrad noch die Flexibilität beim Zugriff auf IT-Ressourcen. 2022 entschloss sich Quantumfrog daher zum Wechsel auf die Public Cloud von gridscale. Bereits bei der Migration zahlte sich die einfache Bedienung der Plattform aus: „Als wir Freitags unser Go gaben, waren keine Woche später alle Kundensysteme umgezogen. Das hätten wir mit keinem anderen Anbieter geschafft“, sagt Geschäftsführer Rump.

Wie bei anderen Projekten arbeitet Quantumfrog bei Meinmarktstand.de mit einem Managed-Services-Dienstleister zusammen, der die Kundensysteme in der Cloud wartet und überwacht. „Im Unterschied zu den komplexen US-Clouds vereinfacht gridscale die Arbeitsteilung mit IT-Partnern ganz entscheidend“, sagt Rump. So bietet die Plattform neben dem übersichtlichen Dashboard eine eigene Mandantenverwaltung für unterschiedliche Kundeninstanzen.

Cloud-Mandanten für Kundenprojekte übersichtlich steuern

„Andere Hosting-Anbieter oder IT-Dienstleister erlauben bei Managed Services meist keinen Zugriff auf das Backend, andernfalls muss man sich selbst um alles kümmern“, sagt Rump. In der Cloud von gridscale können wir flexibel entscheiden, ob und in welchem Ausmaß Kunden ihre Systeme selbst steuern. „Die Nutzerführung ist so einfach, dass sich Dienstleister, unser Team wie unsere Kunden schnell zurechtfinden“, so Rump. Künftige Kundeninstanzen legt die Agentur über das Partnerpanel an und hat damit den Infrastrukturbetrieb verschiedener Projekte immer übersichtlich im Blick.

Die Public Cloud von gridscale ist viel übersichtlicher und bedienfreundlicher als die großen Plattformen und bietet trotzdem alle Funktionen, die wir als Agentur brauchen.

– Hendrik Rump

Resümee

Im Praxisbetrieb sorgt die neue Public Cloud für effektive Entlastung bei Quantumfrog: „Unsere Cloud skaliert die IT-Ressourcen für die Shop-Datenbank vollautomatisch. Der Kunde profitiert von Hochverfügbarkeit bei Lastspitzen und sieht zugleich, dass er nur für die Leistung zahlt, die er tatsächlich abruft.“

Besonders wichtig ist der Agentur, dass sie einen festen Ansprechpartner bei allen Fragen zur Cloud hat: „Wir schätzen die sehr persönliche Betreuung durch gridscale. Der deutsche Support ist uns angenehm und wichtig. So klappt auch das Zusammenspiel mit dem Managed-Services-Dienstleister, den uns gridscale vermittelt hat, einfach perfekt“, betont Rump.

Die Entscheider von Quantumfrog sehen mit der Plattform von gridscale die Chance, die Infrastrukturseite ihres Geschäfts zu konsolidieren. „Mit solchen Partnern im Rücken gehen wir jetzt die Virtualisierung unserer Systemlandschaft an und gestalten unsere Entwicklungsprozesse noch agiler“, sagt Rump. „Das gibt uns die Freiheit, uns als Agentur auf unsere Stärke zu konzentrieren: kreative Lösung zu entwickeln.“

Download der Success Story

Unsere Success und Partner Storys gibt es auch zum kostenlosen Download im PDF-Format. Viele weitere spannende Storys findest du in unserer Story-Übersicht oder als bequemes PDF zum Mitnehmen im Download Center.