FLOWWER

Digital invoice management from the cloud

A Success Story

FLOWWER is a cloud-based SaaS solution for digital invoice and document approval and makes it possible to keep an eye on company finances and map invoice processes digitally. All invoices remain accessible in the cloud at all times. In addition to easy handling and availability, the focus is on absolutely reliable protection of all invoice and company data.

Overview
The Heidenheim-based software company DotNetFabrik, which also develops FLOWWER, has been known for lean and efficient software at fair conditions for 20 years.

Branche
Software-as-a-Service

Employees
<15

Customers
2.000+

gridscale products in use
Cloud Server
Storage
RESTful API

The goal
In order to fully concentrate again on what DotNetFabrik does best – namely its own software development – the company was looking for a reliable German cloud provider that could fully take care of FLOWWER’s secure IT operations and at the same time convince with a high level of service. Added to this: As a comprehensive archiving solution for the business data of its users, FLOWWER is imperatively dependent on storage capacities that are always immediately and unlimitedly available.

Challenges
Since FLOWWER works with very sensitive company information, the strictest data protection and confidentiality requirements apply – of course also for the operation of the IT infrastructure. At the same time, the complete migration of both the system and the entire archive inventory was to take place over a single weekend – the concern was too big that many customers would be lost in the event of a prolonged maintenance window or even a temporary system failure. Very fast availability and high reliability were therefore among the most important criteria when selecting a provider.

The solution
The DSGVO-compliant and flexibly scalable cloud server and storage solutions from gridscale. Thanks to the ease of use and uncomplicated handling of the technology, all FLOWWER components could be transferred and put back into operation in just a few days. As a result, DotNetFabrik now benefits from computing and storage capacities that can be scaled as required, stable performance and consumption-based costs for the use of the necessary resources.

Key Results

Complete cloud migration in just 3 days

Time regained for own core business

100% DSGVO compliant data storage

We liked the fact that, unlike the large hyperscalers, gridscale is based in Germany and focuses entirely on medium-sized businesses. In addition, of course, there was the intuitive cloud panel. It is an advantage to work with a cloud platform where components can be set up and configured so quickly. And the fact that storage can be booked on an extremely flexible basis was really a big step forward for us.

Sascha Schwegelbauer, CEO DotNetFabrik GmbH

Interview with Sascha Schwegelbauer

CEO DotNetFabrik GmbH

Sascha, you have been using gridscale for several years now. What prompted you to look for a new provider back then?

We wanted to finally focus on what we do best: our software. Unfortunately, this was not possible with our previous provider, because we were also responsible for the hardware and monitoring. For us, it was an important goal to hand over these aspects to a reliable partner. In our search, we finally landed at gridscale. And we have not regretted the decision to this day. It was an important step for our company.

What were the arguments for gridscale?

First of all the service offer itself. We process important invoice data. A cloud solution offers us a high level of security. Even if the hardware should fail for some reason, everything is securely protected in the gridscale cloud and quickly available to the user at all times.

We also liked the fact that, unlike the large hyperscalers, gridscale is based in Germany and focuses entirely on medium-sized businesses. In addition, of course, there was the intuitive gridscale interface, the Cloud Panel. It is an advantage to work with a cloud platform where components can be set up and configured so quickly. And the fact that storage can be booked on an extremely flexible basis was really a big step forward for us.

Considering your business model, DSGVO compliance certainly played a big role as well.

This was a decisive factor. Our SaaS solution processes invoices and data from companies where high data protection and confidentiality guidelines must be observed. A purely German provider with no legal ties to US corporations was therefore an important criterion for us right from the start.

We must ensure at all times that the data remains with us. In addition to data protection, this is also important for our customer service. After all, we need to be able to act quickly in the event of problems due to the sensitivity of the data.

How does gridscale differ from your previous provider in these aspects?

The customer service there was more like that of a government agency. We had to take a number, wait, and if the first contact person couldn’t offer a solution, the game started all over again. We no longer wanted to feel like we were talking to a chatbot, but to an experienced technician to whom we could describe our problems. That’s exactly what gridscale offers us. You are immediately on the spot in case of problems or questions. The cooperation is uncomplicated and at the highest technical level. That is impressive.

Besides data protection and customer service, were there any other requirements for your move to the gridscale cloud?

Important technical prerequisites were that we could migrate our existing data to the gridscale cloud in a very simple way. It was our goal from the very beginning to run our entire infrastructure at gridscale. Especially in the migration process, you can’t afford to lose data or have our service barely usable or not usable at all during the changeover. By the time everything was up and running again, we would probably have lost half of our customers. For us, there was therefore no alternative to rapid implementation.

How long did it take to complete the migration?

That was pretty straightforward and only took three to four days. We took the time over the weekend to shut everything down once and were ready to go again for our customers from the restart on Sunday evening. So that really worked flawlessly. It is very easy to switch to the gridscale cloud.

SaaS solutions in the gridscale cloud

gridscale offers SaaS providers a secure and fast cloud with a perfect user experience. The gridscale cloud guarantees 24/7 reliability, stable performance and German data protection – with attractive prices thanks to minute-by-minute pay-as-you-go billing.

Developer friendly – All the freedom for cloud-native and DevOps concepts thanks to open source philosophy, open API and managed Kubernetes.

Audit-proof – compliance with all regulatory requirements for data protection according to ISO 27001. Secure data storage in German TIER 3 data centers.

Public Cloud

Scalable – Required resources can be seamlessly adapted at any time. Storage and CPU scale automatically and reliably during operation.

Partner

Service-friendly – The gridscale cloud experts are always available for uncomplicated problem solving and advice when needed.

Download the Success Story

Our Success and Partner Stories are also available for free download in PDF format. You can find many more exciting stories in our story overview or as a convenient PDF to take home in the Download Center.

FLOWWER

Digitales Rechnungsmanagement aus der Cloud

Eine Success Story

FLOWWER ist eine cloud-basierte SaaS-Lösung für die digitale Rechnungs- und Dokumentenfreigabe und ermöglicht es, Unternehmensfinanzen im Blick zu behalten und Rechnungsprozesse digital abzubilden. Alle Rechnungen bleiben in der Cloud jederzeit abrufbar. Im Vordergrund stehen neben der leichten Handhabung und Verfügbarkeit ein absolut zuverlässiger Schutz aller Rechnungs- und Firmendaten.

Übersicht
Die Heidenheimer Softwareschmiede DotNetFabrik, die auch FLOWWER entwickelt, ist seit 20 Jahren bekannt für schlanke und effiziente Software zu fairen Konditionen.

Branche
Software-as-a-Service

Mitarbeitende
<15

Kunden
2.000+

gridscale Produkte im Einsatz
Cloud Server
Storage
RESTful API

Das Ziel
Um sich wieder voll und ganz auf das zu konzentrieren, was die DotNetFabrik am besten kann – nämlich die eigene Software-Entwicklung – war man auf der Suche nach einem zuverlässigen deutschen Cloud-Anbieter, der sich vollumfänglich um den sicheren IT-Betrieb von FLOWWER kümmert und zugleich mit einem hohen Servicegrad überzeugen kann. Hinzu kam: Als umfassende Archivierungslösung für die Geschäftsdaten ihrer Nutzer ist FLOWWER auf immer unmittelbar und unbegrenzt verfügbare Speicherkapazitäten zwingend angewiesen.

Herausforderungen
Da FLOWWER mit sehr sensiblen Firmeninformationen arbeitet, gelten strengste Datenschutz- und Vertraulichkeitsauflagen – selbstverständlich auch für den Betrieb der IT-Infrastrukturen beim Cloud-Anbieter. Zugleich sollte die vollständige Migration sowohl des Systems wie auch des gesamten Archivbestandes an einem einzigen Wochenende stattfinden – zu groß war die Sorge, bei einem länger anhaltenden Wartungsfenster oder gar durch eine zeitweisen Systemausfall viele Kunden zu verlieren. Sehr schnelle Verfügbarkeit und hohe Ausfallsicherheit gehörten mithin zu den wichtigsten Kriterien bei der Anbieterauswahl.

Die Lösung
Die DSGVO-konformen und flexibel skalierbaren Cloud Server und Storage-Lösungen von gridscale. Dank der einfachen Bedienbarkeit und dem unkomplizierten Handling der Technologie konnten sämtliche Komponenten von FLOWWER in nur wenigen Tagen überführt und wieder in Betrieb genommen werden. Im Ergebnis profitiert die DotNetFabrik nun von beliebig skalierbaren Rechen- und Speicherkapazitäten, stabiler Performance und verbrauchsabhängigen Kosten für die Inanspruchnahme der notwendigen Ressourcen.

Key Results

Vollständige Cloud-Migration in nur 3 Tagen

Zurückgewonnene Zeit für eigenes Kerngeschäft

100 % DSGVO-konforme Datenspeicherung

Uns hat gefallen, dass gridscale im Gegensatz zu den großen Hyperscalern in Deutschland sitzt und sich dabei ganz auf den Mittelstand fokussiert. Hinzu kam natürlich das intuitive Cloud Panel. Es ist ein Vorteil, mit einer Cloud-Plattform zu arbeiten, bei der sich Komponenten so schnell einrichten und konfigurieren lassen. Und dass man äußerst flexibel Storage nachbuchen kann, war wirklich ein großer Fortschritt für uns.

Sascha Schwegelbauer, CEO der DotNetFabrik GmbH

Interview mit Sascha Schwegelbauer

CEO der DotNetFabrik GmbH

Sascha, ihr nutzt gridscale nun schon einige Jahre. Was hat euch damals bewogen, euch nach einem neuen Anbieter umzusehen?

Wir wollten uns endlich auf das konzentrieren, was wir am besten können: unsere Software. Das war bei unserem vorherigen Anbieter leider nicht möglich, denn wir waren zusätzlich für die Hardware und das Monitoring verantwortlich. Für uns war es ein wichtiges Ziel, diese Aspekte an einen zuverlässigen Partner abzugeben. Bei unserer Suche sind wir schließlich bei gridscale gelandet. Und wir haben die Entscheidung bis heute nicht bereut. Es war ein wichtiger Schritt für unser Unternehmen.

Was waren die Argumente für gridscale?

Erst einmal natürlich das Service-Angebot. Wir verarbeiten wichtige Rechnungsdaten. Eine Cloud-Lösung bietet uns da eine hohe Sicherheit. Selbst wenn die Hardware aus irgendeinem Grund einmal ausfallen sollte, ist in der gridscale Cloud alles sicher geschützt und für den Anwender jederzeit schnell verfügbar.

Außerdem hat uns gefallen, dass gridscale im Gegensatz zu den großen Hyperscalern in Deutschland sitzt und sich dabei ganz auf den Mittelstand fokussiert. Hinzu kam natürlich das intuitive gridscale Interface, das Cloud Panel. Es ist ein Vorteil, mit einer Cloud-Plattform zu arbeiten, bei der sich Komponenten so schnell einrichten und konfigurieren lassen. Und dass man äußerst flexibel Storage nachbuchen kann, war wirklich ein großer Fortschritt für uns.

In Anbetracht eures Geschäftsmodells spielte sicher auch die DSGVO-Konformität eine große Rolle.

Das war ein entscheidender Faktor. In unserer SaaS-Lösung werden Rechnungen und Daten von Unternehmen verarbeitet, bei denen hohe Datenschutz- und Vertraulichkeitsrichtlinien eingehalten werden müssen. Ein rein deutscher Anbieter ohne rechtliche Verbindungen zu US-Konzernen war daher von Anfang an ein wichtiges Kriterium für uns.

Wir müssen jederzeit sicherstellen, dass die Daten bei uns bleiben. Neben dem Datenschutz ist das auch für unseren Kundenservice wichtig. Schließlich müssen wir bei Problemen aufgrund der Sensibilität der Daten schnell handlungsfähig sein.

Inwiefern unterscheidet sich gridscale bei diesen Aspekten von eurem vorherigen Anbieter?

Der Kundenservice dort glich eher dem einer Behörde. Nummer ziehen, warten, und wenn der erste Ansprechpartner keine Lösung bieten konnte, ging das Spiel von vorne los. Wir wollten nicht mehr das Gefühl haben, mit einem Chatbot zu sprechen, sondern mit einem erfahrenen Techniker, dem wir unsere Probleme schildern können. Genau das bietet uns gridscale. Ihr seid bei Problemen oder Fragen sofort zur Stelle. Die Zusammenarbeit ist unkompliziert, verbindlich und auf fachlich höchstem Niveau. Das ist schon beeindruckend.

Gab es neben dem Datenschutz und Kundenservice noch weitere Anforderungen für euren Umzug in die gridscale Cloud?

Wichtige technische Voraussetzungen waren, dass wir unsere vorhandenen Daten auf sehr einfach Weise in die gridscale Cloud migrieren können. Es war von Anfang an unser Ziel, unsere komplette Infrastruktur bei gridscale laufen zu lassen. Gerade im Migrationsprozess kann man es sich nicht leisten, dass Daten verloren gehen oder unser Service während der Umstellung kaum oder gar nicht nutzbar ist. Bis alles wieder funktionstüchtig gewesen wäre, hätten wir dann wahrscheinlich die Hälfte unserer Kunden verloren. Eine schnelle Umsetzung war für uns deshalb alternativlos.

Wie lange hat es gedauert, bis die Migration vollständig abgeschlossen war?

Das war ziemlich unkompliziert und hat lediglich drei bis vier Tage gedauert. Wir haben uns am Wochenende die Zeit genommen, einmal alles runterzufahren und waren ab dem Neustart am Sonntagabend wieder für unsere Kunden startklar. Das hat also wirklich einwandfrei funktioniert. Es ist sehr einfach, in die gridscale Cloud zu wechseln.

SaaS-Lösungen in der gridscale Cloud

gridscale bietet SaaS-Anbietern eine sichere und schnelle Cloud mit einer perfekten User Experience. Die gridscale Cloud garantiert 24/7 Ausfallsicherheit, stabile Performance und deutschen Datenschutz – mit attraktiven Preisen dank minutengenauer Pay-as-you-go-Abrechnung.

Entwicklerfreundlich – Alle Freiheiten für Cloud-Native und DevOps-Konzepte dank Open-Source-Philosophie, offener API und Managed Kubernetes.

Revisionssicher – Einhaltung aller regulatorischer Vorgaben für Datenschutz nach ISO 27001. Sichere Datenspeicherung in deutschen TIER-3- Rechenzentren.

Public Cloud

Skalierbar – Benötigte Ressourcen können jederzeit nahtlos angepasst werden. Storage und CPU skalieren automatisch und zuverlässig im laufenden Betrieb.

Partner

Servicefreundlich – Die gridscale Cloud-Experten stehen im Bedarfsfall jederzeit unkompliziert für Problemlösung und Beratung zur Verfügung.

Download der Success Story

Unsere Success und Partner Storys gibt es auch zum kostenlosen Download im PDF-Format. Viele weitere spannende Storys findest in unserer Story-Übersicht oder als bequemes PDF zum Mitnehmen im Download Center.